Overnight French Toast

Overnight French Toast

My next post was going to be about the importance of menu planning, and how shopping for an entire week or two helps you be budget smart. I will still write that blog. This, however, is not that blog. In fact, this isn’t even healthy smart.
I have a huge sweet tooth! Sometimes, it gets the best of me. Like this weekend. We had friends over after church for brunch and I took it as the perfect excuse to whip up a recipe I had seen – on Facebook, of all places. This is how the original recipe was posted:

FRENCH TOAST BAKE

1/2 cup melted butter (1 stick)
1 cup brown sugar
1 loaf Texas toast
4 eggs
1 1/2 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
Powdered sugar for sprinkling

1. Melt butter in microwave & add brown sugar….stir till mixed.
2. Pour butter/sugar mix into bottom of 9 x 13 pan….spread around
3. Beat eggs, milk, & vanilla
4. Lay single layer of Texas Toast in pan
5. Spoon 1/2 of egg mixture on bread layer
6. Add 2nd layer of Texas Toast
7. Spoon on remaining egg mixture
8. Cover & chill in fridge overnight
9. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes (covered for the first 30 minutes)
10. Sprinkle with powdered sugar
11. Serve with warm maple syrup

Sounds good, right? Well, I decide it could be even better. I added cinnamon to the egg mixture and doubled the vanilla. Then, and this is where my real genius came in, I made homemade Summer Wheat bread to use instead of the texas toast. Whole wheat is healthy, so therefore using whole wheat bread makes the recipe a little healthier. (What can I say, I learned young how to justify food splurges)

This was awesome! I loved the heartiness of the wheat with the sweet brown sugar bottom. It didn’t even need the syrup, it was delish. I made the bread in the bread maker and here is the recipe:

CHAD’S SUMMER WHEAT BREAD
All ingredients at room temperature (70°F-80°/21°C-27°C)

11–12oz. water

1-1/2tsp. salt

1-1/2Tbsp. vegetable oil

2Tbsp. molasses

2 cups flour

2 cups whole wheat flour

2 tsp. active dry yeast

Measure all ingredients into bread pan in the order listed above, beginning with the column on the left, followed by the column on the right. Select Whole Wheat setting. Select crust setting if other than “Medium.” Press the “Start/Stop” button to begin the breadmaking process.

While this may not be a healthy recipe, it is good for your budget!  I had everything I needed in my house already, so it was easy to whip up without adding anything to my grocery list.  Speaking of grocery lists, I promise my next post will be about menu planning as a key way to stay in your budget.

And I must give credit where credit is due:
French Toast Bake recipe by Devonay Stanton Potter
Chad’s Summer Wheat Bread by Oster

Leave a Reply

