Quick and Easy 6-Can Chicken Soup

A coworker of mine couldn’t stop gushing about a 6 can soup she discovered on AllRecipes.  After listening to her for three days, I decided to give it a try; and now I want to gush about it!  This is the perfect ‘beat my cold’ sort of soup, it is hearty and takes 5 minutes to make!  I can’t wait to make it again. 🙂

Image

Ingredients:

* 1 15oz can whole corn, drained

* 2 14.5oz cans chicken broth (I used homemade stock I had in my freezer)

* 1 10oz can chunk chicken, drained ($1.39 at Aldi)

* 1 15oz can black beans, rinsed and drained

* 1 15oz can diced tomatoes

Open all cans and combine in soup pot.  Heat until the warm.  And that’s it!

I made it 7 can by adding a can of sliced mushrooms, along with some green onion I had in the fridge to be used.  The original recipe had a 10oz can of diced tomato with green chiles instead of the larger diced tomatoes, but I had 5 minutes until Aldi closed and didn’t spot the green chile can, so I subbed for the other.  I loved it and bet the zest from the chile would be delicious as well.  My coworker served it with tortilla chips, cheddar cheese, and sour cream.  What ingredients would you use? I would love to hear your ideas for mixing and matching the cans in this soup, so please comment below.

Keep your eyes peeled for my next post, I made my own dishwasher detergent and will soon be sharing the results of the adventure!

Leave a Reply

