DIY All Purpose Cleaner

Boy-O loves to clean the bathroom. Believe me, I know how lucky I am! He started at 4 and hasn’t stopped.  What Mom wouldn’t let their kid step in for this decidedly icky chore? The problem, of course, is the chemicals involved.  Moderation certainly isn’t part of his vocabulary.  He follows the “more is better” philosophy of cleaning.  If I am not worrying over the long-term effects of the chemical exposure, I am fussing over the bleach spots on his clothes.

One of my friends introduced me to this simple homemade cleaner and I can’t help but share it! It cleans toilets, sinks, mirrors, counters, tables, ovens, microwaves, and whatever other non-porous surface you can think of.

Image

Supplies:

1 TBSP Borax

4 TBSP White Vinegar

1 TSP Liquid Dish Detergent

Water

32 oz Spray Bottle (I reused one from an old cleaner that I washed out)

 

Put some warm water in a pourable container (I used a liquid measuring cup) and dissolve the Borax in it. Stir in the vinegar and liquid detergent. Fill spray bottle halfway with water than add borax mixture.  Fill the rest of the way with water – The less you have to add at the end the better, it can get bubbly. Swish around until combined and VOILA! You are ready for cleaning.

Leave a Reply

