Mini Pumpkin Scones

Here in Upstate New York the Fall season has officially begun! I’ve pulled out our sweaters, made the switch from iced coffee to hot tea, and developed a taste for all things pumpkin. The first pumpkin thing on my agenda this year was scones.

I LOVE SCONES!

Scones can be sweet or savory, breakfast or dessert, biscuity or dense; basically anything you can dream up! For my pumpkin scones I wanted something fluffy, sweet (but not over sweet), and flavorful. I took my favorite scone recipe and with some adjustments, got perfect pumpkin scones.

You have got to taste the addicting little treats! I mean, look at them:

Mini Pumpkin Scones

Check out this texture:

Scone Close Up

It does not get any better than that, folks. It just doesn’t.

MINI PUMPKIN SCONES

Yield: 32 scones  Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • ½ cup butter or coconut oil
  • ½ cup pumpkin puree (heaping, so a little over)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 ½ tsp pumpkin pie spice (or 1 tsp cinnamon + ½ tsp nutmeg)
  • Optional: 3 tbsp mini chocolate chips or chopped nuts
  • Topping:
    • 2 tbsp sugar
    • 2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F
  2. In large bowl, combine flour, sugar, & baking powder
  3. Cut in butter/coconut oil with a fork until mixture is crumbly
  4. In separate bowl, combine pumpkin, egg, vanilla, & spices
  5. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until combined – dough will be sticky
  6. Fold in chips or nuts, if using
  7. Dump dough onto sheet of wax paper or greased countertop; grease hands and form dough into rectangle (about the size of a 8.5×11 paper)
  8. With greased knife, cut dough into quarters vertically and horizontally, so you have 16 squares. Cut each square diagonally, ending with 32 mini scones
  9. Use spatula to transfer scones to cookie sheets, leaving about ½ inch between scones
  10. Combine cinnamon & sugar for topping and sprinkle generously onto the scones
  11. Bake in oven 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned
  12. Transfer to cooling rack, enjoy warm or cool

I’m going to try something new and give you a PDF so you can easily print the recipe, too! Leave me a note and let me know what you think. Is it helpful? I also would love to hear what you’re adding into these! Please comment so I can try 🙂

MINI PUMPKIN SCONES <– Printable PDF!!

2 thoughts on “Mini Pumpkin Scones

  1. How have I not been reading your blog already?! I love, love, love it… Instead of working today, I’m going to dig into the archives and read, read, read. 😉

Leave a Reply

